Imprint: Arcadia

Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781740970983
Released: October 2007

A$120 Buy now

The Fortunes of Richard Mahony — Henry Handel Richardson's Epic Trilogy

Edited by Clive Probyn and Bruce Steele

The Fortunes of Richard Mahony reflects the foundational years of Victoria through the restless, eventually harrowing narrative of the Mahony family, and centrally through the life of Richard Mahony, voyager, questor, idealist. This is the first time anywhere that all three novels have been published complete, simultaneously and accurately. The cuts that Richardson was obliged to make for the 1930 single-volume omnibus edition have all been restored from the author's preferred version. The four chapters of her planned continuation — bringing the narrative up to the time of Gallipoli — are included. This unique edition includes notes and source material.


Categories: Australian Fiction, Fiction, Australian Literature

You might also like:

Love and Derangement
Grant Caldwell

Well Anyway
Dal Stivens, Harry Heseltine

Living Like a Kelly
Dorothy Simmons

Tom Petsinis